Driving Around The BSU Campus


This was actually up New York, near where the dorms used to start over there. I thought it was interesting they were building that far east.

*****


I had no idea if I’d seen this building before or not. It was approximately across the street from Bracken Library.

*****



Two views of that odd, middle-of-the-street clock tower they built right in the middle of the road. I don’t know why you’d build a clocktower just to have one, and I don’t know how that doesn’t automatically conjure the image of someone picking off students with a high-powered rifle.

*****


The aforementioned Bracken Library, where I spent a ton of time as a high school student pretending to be studying and where a bunch of Dad’s papers are housed.

*****


This was a brand new building for me, and maybe for everyone else: a Music building across from Emens auditorium.

*****



This isn’t the best way to show it, but these two views of BSU’s main business corridor were taken to remind me how much business there seems to be on Ball State’s campus compared to when I was a kid and there seemed like very little over here at all except for a pizzeria, the on-campus Ball store and an underground vinyl establishment. It makes sense that businesses would go to BSU since I assume there’s some money to be had here. When I talked to people about Muncie during this trip they would frequently cite the University as the thing keeping the city from total oblivion.

*****


Hallowed ground.

Comments are closed.