Driving Around Downtown Muncie


I’m told the city shut down their pools for this summer. Empty, abandoned pools are one of the routinely sad things in life. They also closed down the downtown fire station, which strikes me as slightly nuts.

*****


This piece of crappery is the only photo I seemed to take of the main bridge on Wheeling leading into downtown Muncie, which for some reason is now called “Fallen Heroes Memorial Bridge.” As one of my passengers commented, “Our fallen heroes deserve better.”

*****


The Wrights live in one of the neighborhoods just west of downtown, and there are bunch of great, crumbling houses just east of downtown where my grand-uncles did a lot of the building back in the day. But the most blighted neighborhood of all around downtown seemed to be the one east of Central and north of downtown proper. There were signs of some rebuilding, as in the picture above.

*****


This little drive-in establishment structure is one of those buildings that looks 10X more abandoned than normal buildings look that aren’t used anymore. It’s around the corner from the Fieldhouse.

*****


For some reason, I never checked out Walnut, but a downtown organic grocery in what was a highly unstable business location when I was a kid I thought worth a snapshot. The business downtown that freaked me out for still being there was Jack’s Camera Shop to the East of Civic Theater. Of all the downtown businesses to survive since my childhood, that’s the last one I would have picked.

Comments are closed.